Tags

, , , , , ,

THE SEASONS

Winter.  Blizzard time.
I go out and walk in it.
Don’t bother to ask. 

Spring and gentle rain
Bring forth new life, with pollen.
There’s always something!

My tiny garden
Never gets the Summer sun.
Even weeds die young.

And then there’s Autumn.
Really, what is it good for
But kicking dead leaves? 

AILMENTS

In the waiting room,
Only People magazine.
Quick, call the doctor!

A constant buzzing.
Help me, Doc!  What could it be?
Cellphone … On silent.

Waiting for flu-shot.
Will it hurt? I ask the nurse.
Yes, he says, a lot.

INTRUSIONS

His car is silent
But for its booming stereo.
Pass the dynamite.

5 A.M.  Dog barks.
Should I put poison in his
Owner’s Cheerios?

AMBIGUITIES

Quel grande aventure!
Two wheels, a pedal, a chain,
And no tire-patch kit!

Outside my window,
A hawk has caught a squirrel.
Beauty and the Beast.

Just in time, I caught
A film they’re all abuzz for.
What were they thinking?

A tasteless dinner,
Equally tasteless speeches.
But the rolls were good.

SMALL BLESSINGS

A distant anthem
Coming near.  Be still, my heart.
It’s THE ICE-CREAM MAN!

A guy … Somali? …
Knocks and hands a box to me.
What wall did he breach?

Quel grande aventure!
Two wheels, a pedal, a chain.
In the road, no nails!